Worn Out

My 15 year old son, Jonathan recently began playing tennis. When he plays a sport, he plays hard and he never gives up.

Jonathan played in his first tournament today. It was a last minute opening and we weren’t as prepared as we could have been. We haven’t purchased a racquet that best suits his style of play and we haven’t purchased “tennis” shoes specifically made for the sport. 

Jonathan has been wearing regular athletic shoes for practice and has already demolished two pairs. He was down to his last pair of athletic shoes for the tournament today. The shoes he began the day with were not new, but certainly were not falling apart. 

Jonathan played three matches and by the time the third match began we jokingly mentioned the use of duct tape to keep his shoes intact. With every slide to reach the ball, I wondered how much longer they would last.  

Jonathan’s shoes did last, but are now only suitable for the trash. He even accomplished making holes in his socks with his quick movements to the ball. Just like I said, he plays hard and never gives up. 

Tonight, as I looked at the poor condition of Jonathan’s shoes, God placed a thought in my mind. How quickly those shoes were worn out playing a sport. How long would it take to wear those shoes out doing the work God has called us to do? 

The thought overwhelmed me for a moment. What if I worked hard and never gave up in my walk with the Lord? What if I wore out a pair of shoes daily because I was working non-stop to bring glory to Him and share His love with others? It’s a humbling thought, but glorious at the same time. Should I attempt to wear out my shoes each day? Not in literal terms, but ideally, yes. For me, those worn out shoes are a visual picture of staying focused on God and His will. Doing whatever He calls me to do, whenever He calls me to do it. Those shoes remind me to work hard and never give up. God is completely worth it! 

I think I’ll spare the shoes from the trash and save them as a reminder. It’s funny how God can use worn out shoes to stir my passion for Him. 

Colossians 3:23 “Whatever work you do, do it with all your heart. Do it for the Lord and not for men.”

In His Love,

Karen ❤️

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Len Neville
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 02:39:27

    Love this.

    Reply

  2. Misty
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 08:38:06

    ❤️
    I might have entertained the idea of a arranged marriage with K…. We would definitely have some amazing grandkids, but not before they’re 40!

    Reply

  3. Tiffany
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 09:43:26

    So true❤️This!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

